Hope is a 4 Letter Word

DBT is a recognized treatment for BPD.  This has been proven through clinical trials and it has been used to help many patients.  I was introduced to DBT while I was in hospital, even before my BPD diagnosis.  I found it to be very helpful for me, even in the small doses offered during my stay.  It was encouraging when my doctor let me know I was on the waiting list for the DBT program offered by the health authority’s outpatient department.  After a little research, I found that an actual program run the way it was intended by the founder of DBT consists of much more than what I had seen.  I had only been given a cursory introduction to some of the concepts.  If that was helpful, the full program may actually make it possible for me to live a fulfilling life!
   That was three months ago.  Last week I found out I am not on the waiting list for DBT.  The waiting list is in fact closed because the resources to offer the program are not sufficient to meet the needs.  There are DBT programs available in the private sector, but the cost is around $10,000.  That is impossible, especially considering my illness is keeping me from decent employment.  I often wonder if the cost of not treating mental illness is actually more than the cost to the government of an effective mental health system.  When you consider human suffering, I am certain an effective system would be much cheaper.
  So here I am with a diagnosis, the knowledge that a great treatment exists and no access to that treatment.  At least the system can offer medications, right?  Did I mention that no medications have been shown to be effective in treating BPD?  There are medications to help with some of the symptoms.  My latest one seems to be pretty effective so far for sleep and seems to work some for mood stabilization.  What I mean by that is that I find I am much more calm about this lousy situation I have found myself in.  I still think it is lousy and it is hard to see any hope.  
   For now I will take what help I can find and continue to search for more.  The hope I had when I left hospital is gone, though. 

Leave a Reply

