One Year

It has been one year since I came to terms with the fact that my gender assigned at birth does not match my internal gender.  It has been a busy year.  I do not think my year ago self would recognize much of my present self.  There have been internal and external changes for me.  
I cannot describe how happy it makes me when I get dressed and do not feel like I am presenting a lie to the world.  I am so much more comfortable facing the world as my true self, whether other people agree or disagree.
I have of course been trying to write on this blog.  It has been hit or miss at times over the year.  I have wanted to write for many years and this is giving me the opportunity to not only write, but to get my story out to people who may find it useful.  Just in the past few weeks I have submitted two posts to an online magazine and both were accepted for publication!  I was also asked for a quote for someone else’s article about transphobia and mental health.  It is truly an honor that people are listening.  
Speaking of mental health, as most of you probably know, I came very close to not making it through this past year.  I have been plagued with depression for years and it almost took my life.  I was also diagnosed with anxiety and borderline personality disorder.  So now I have names for what I have been feeling for years and hopefully a better path to treatment.
My health effected my job also.  I found out just how quickly my contributions can be devalued by people who seemed to care.  It is a good lesson and I am starting to move on from that.  Being trans and looking for a new job can be a bit intimidating, but it is looking like some exciting possibilities may be opening up for me.
Thank you to everyone who has been reading and sharing in my year.  My illnesses often convince me I am alone and no one cares, but it is always a comfort to come to WordPress and see that people are out there reading, liking and commenting.  I am grateful for the time you spend on my blog and I hope this next year I can improve my writing and keep sharing.

4 thoughts on “One Year

  1. I wish you the best on your journey! Thank you for sharing your story with us 🙂
    Being transgender isn’t easy itself, and that’s not even the only thing you have to deal with, so I’m proud of you!

    Stay strong 🙂

    -Sylveran

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

