Tuesday’s Good News

Going to the ER for suicidal ideation was a new experience for me that was full of surprises.  One of the most disheartining surprises was how difficult it was for doctors to see past my transition.  On my first visit that was all they could focus on.  I felt like they believed it was impossible for anything else to cause my distress and they did not believe me when I said transition was the only positive in my life.  Doctors seem to be fixated on my gender and it has really had me worried.  Not only do I feel I do not get the proper treatment at times because of it, I have also been really concerned about the effect it will have on my transition.  Maybe they will try to stop me from transitioning or suggest I go back to who I was pretending to be before.
On Tuesday when I went to see my GP those were the concerns in my mind.  I did not want to bring them up with her.  No matter how supportive she has been, I was not going to open that can of worms.  Eventually she brought up my most recent lab tests.  She went over the levels with me and asked if I wanted to increase the hormone dosage I am on.  What a huge relief! Not only does she see my transition as positive, too, my new diagnosis are having absolutely no bearing on how she is treating me.  Needless to say, I left with a new prescription and a much lighter mood.

One thought on “Tuesday’s Good News

Leave a Reply

