Home Again

I still have several posts to catch up on from my hospital stay.  I will post those in the next couple of weeks.  I have been discharged now and I am safe at home.  
Today I met my new doctor and he seems very down to earth.  I felt at ease with him from the start and I am looking forward to working with him.  The hospital’s main job is to stabilize patients so they can go home and continue treatment on an outpatient basis.  This will not be a quick process for me so I should have plenty of posts as I continue my work.
In the couple of days since discharge I have mainly been reconnecting with some semblance of a normal life.  I have registered with a program that will provide social opportunities very similar to the groups in the hospital.  My outpatient team also offers similar opportunities as well as skills groups and a one on one peer counselor.  I am quite excited about the peer counselor.  It will be someone who has lived through what I am now going through and made it to the other side.  My case manager is a registered nurse and she and I will be meeting regularly.  For now we will be working on CBT and DBT skills together.  I learned some of the basic skills in hospital and these are what has helped me the most.  I am hoping this is what will empower me to lead a more fulfilling life.
I will let you know how it is going for me as I progress.  

Leave a Reply

