Rest in Peace?

Another young woman was killed in Edmonton because of fentanyl.  One of hundreds across the country in recent months.  This beautiful 20 year old is just a statistic to most people, I think we get numbed by all the senseless deaths we hear about each day.  I feel bad about that now.  This statistic had a name, a childhood, and a crying mother that called me last night to tell me. I had known her since she was 4 or 5.

I want her to rest in peace.

Why is that phrase only used for the dead?  I am so sick of the violence and hate in this world.  No wonder some people choose to escape with drugs.  I don’t condone it, but can see how it seems like the right choice for some.  What does it say about our society when bright loving young people would risk their life to escape what we have helped shape?  

We should all be able to rest in peace while we are alive.  More promising young people would still be alive if we could.

Leave a Reply

