Good Times

I haven’t been writing much lately because not much has been happening to write about.  This past week was pretty exciting for me, though.

The biggest thing was a trip to the doctor.  I have to say again how kind and understanding all the health care professionals I have come in contact with have been.  I am fortunate enough to have a family doctor now that is not only kind and very talented in explaining everything to me, but also experienced in providing trans care.  I have to include the entire clinic staff with all the other professionals, also.  The staff is welcoming, helpful, and always careful with names and pronouns even though they are extremely busy.

My doctor visit this week resulted in me walking out with my prescription for hormones.  It feels so great to know the wait is over.  Even after a few days, I am still so excited I don’t have many words for it, just a huge smile!

The other thing going on this weekend is a volunteer job.  This is my second year volunteering at the Vancouver Queer Film Festival.  It is such an amazing time.  The people who come to this festival are so friendly and so fun.  The organizers seem to go out of their way to accommodate the entire community and present an incredible selection of films.  Anyone who is unsure about the LGBTQ community needs to come to this festival.  They will see that we are just people,too and they will have a great time as well.  While I am there, I feel so relaxed, I can be myself and have a great time.  I always leave so happy! Thanks to the organizers for putting on the festival and giving me the opportunity to volunteer.  Oh yeah, one more huge bonus, I get free tickets for some of the films, too.

So all in all, this has been a banner week.  I am looking forward to the changes that are on their way and I have one more shift at the festival tonight.  Hopefully you are all having a great time, too.  Talk to you again soon.

5 thoughts on “Good Times

Leave a Reply

